Travelling with Friends

Thursday, December 22, 2016, 17:15

Travelling with friends

I have been enjoying travelling with friends. Actually since leaving the boat almost three weeks ago, my crew mate or mates have been my constant companions. They are three Americans, around 30 years of age, although Geoff has been my constant companion as Patrick and Jessie spent some time with his parents before joining us in Cuba along with Jessie’s sister, Emma. .They have been very accepting of me, and I have enjoyed seeing things through their eyes, explaining some particularities of Cuba to them, and seeing more night life than I would have if I had ben alone.

Today, I went diving at Playa Ancon, which is a rather meditative past time and, later this afternoon, walking around this lovely town of Trinidad gloriously alone. . .img_0616

I know the locals are more likely to talk at some length with a single person than with a couple or a group, and this kind of exchange is one of the greatest pleasures of travelling in a foreign country. Getting to know the people surpasses, for me, scenery, good food, even a good drink. It is through the people that one gets closer to the culture; even though without art, food, music, and the urban and natural background of the environment the people would not be who they are.

Being able to communicate in Spanish is also one reason I keep coming back to Latin America.
In China, or Mongolia, or Thailand I missed so much when I was not with a native speaker.

Author: vjpro

I am a retired high school teacher from Canada who loves to travel, garden, bicycle, hike, sail, and cook. Since retiring, my ideal year is divided between travelling in the winter, usually solo, and spending the rest of the year in Canada with family and friends.

Leave a Reply

