Discovering Guatemala

Travelling with my husband

Eduardo couldn’t have thought of a better way to get me back on track. He suggested we meet in Guatemala, a country we both have wanted to visit for years.

So after two weeks of diving in Cozumel on my own, we met in Guatemala City. From there, we went to the lovely colonial city of Antigua.

Strolling about the city, we visited a textile museum, and various language schools where I think I might study for couple of months after Eduardo goes home.

Presently we are located on the shores of Lake Atitlan which is surrounded by high hills and three volcanos.

A new generation of hippies have discovered the villages and crowd the streets, visiting, selling their own wares alongside the local Guatemalans, and offering various other services such as hotels, health spas, health food stores, and probably others that I haven’t discovered yet.

Clear mornings and misty afternoons with warm spring time weather make this an ideal place to get away from winter.

Author: vjpro

I am a retired high school teacher from Canada who loves to travel, garden, bicycle, hike, sail, and cook. Since retiring, my ideal year is divided between travelling in the winter, usually solo, and spending the rest of the year in Canada with family and friends.